Day Zero

I woke up verrrryyyy early this morning with a long mental list of everything I needed to accomplish to have a successful start tomorrow…ANDDDD then I laid in bed for another three hours nursing a headache from my big Friday night out. I soon realized that if I’m going to be replacing margaritas with water, I will not have to nurse another hangover for the next thirty days. Silver lining to the no alcohol rule.

The Whole30 discusses what an average human should expect on Day One. I don’t really consider myself average so I’m not sure I can trust it, but it states that I will feel like a bad ass. Eating fresh, delicious food and taking names. We shall see.

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking (worrying) about the next month and I decided that the thing that scares me the most is being forced to redefine social situations. It is not uncommon as a single 27-year old woman, to get asked to drinks, or dinner or to go out to a bar or club with my friends. What do I do now? “I’ll have a water, but add some extra lime wedges, make it look like a cocktail so no one asks me any questions.” There it is, that’s what I’ll tell the bartender. After looking at me like I have four heads, I am sure they will oblige.

Okay, worrying aside, I went to the grocery store today and spent much less than I thought I would have to. Such a happy moment. Then I went and grabbed dumplings from my favorite Chinese take-out restaurant (the “last meal”) and came home to make some homemade turkey breakfast sausage.

If you are not familiar with the Whole30’s rules, you cannot have ANY sugar. NONE. No honey, maple syrup, agave, fake sugar, ANYTHING. I would encourage you to walk through the grocery store and pick up items that you think have ZERO sugar. SIKEEEEE, mind blown. EVERYTHING at the store has added sugar. It’s nuts. So then you end up doing things like making your own sausage. I literally threw a pound of ground turkey in a bowl, added some salt, pepper, cayenne, sage, red pepper flakes and garlic powder, mashed it together with my hands and then pan seared some patties. I’ll get back to you tomorrow on whether it’s totally disgusting or not.

image1.JPG

I’m rambling, and I shouldn’t because I need to be up early tomorrow (5:30AM; yay, nursing school). I prepped enough food to get me through lunch…I THINKKKK. I packed two scrambled eggs and two of my fancy homemade turkey sausage patties for breakfast and a pretty simple chopped veggie salad for lunch, a small bag of dry roasted almonds, a Lara Bar and an entire avocado (I’ll probably split this between breakfast and lunch).

image3

To finish up, because I’m basically typing with my eyes closed…I wanted to share my fortune from my “last meal.” It wasn’t the motivational fortune I had hoped for the night before I began this journey, but after it sat with me for a little while, I came to realize that it was exactly what I needed. Here is my compliment for you, random stranger reading this blog: YOU ARE SO MUCH STRONGER THAN YOU KNOW. You are totally capable of creating your own happiness so love yourself (Yes, I’m a Belieber) and don’t EVER let anyone make you feel bad about who you are. You are amazing. Embrace it.

image2

Can’t wait to share my Day One thoughts. Night night, friends.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day Zero

  1. Pam says:

    It’s gonna be great! A few days of adjustment and maybe you’ll get a little cranky but nothing you can’t handle. Stay strong and ride the waves kiddo.

  2. Kim Eichling says:

    Club soda. Is a very dear friend of mine. I hope you two hook up. It’s an excellent bar buddy.

Leave a Reply

